Physics for Life Sciences Majors: Electricity, Magnetism, and Modern Physics

PHYSICS XL 5C

This is the third course in the pre-medical physics sequence. It explores electrostatics in vacuum and in water, with applications to biological and biochemical systems.

READ MORE ABOUT THIS COURSE
Fall
Spring
Remote
Starting at $1,060.00
As few as 11 weeks
5.0

What you can learn.

  • Identify how electricity and circuits can be applied in various biological systems
  • Assess the advantages and shortcomings of atomic and nuclear physics in everyday life

About this course:

Electrostatics in vacuum and in water. Electricity, circuits, magnetism, quantum, atomic and nuclear physics, and radioactivity, with applications to biological and biochemical systems. Transferable for UC credit.
Prerequisites
Physics XL 5B

Summer 2022 Schedule

Date & Time
Details
Format
 
-
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday
Available
See Details
Instructor: Arash Bellafard
387767
Fee:
$1,060.00
Remoteformat icon
Location: Remote Classroom
Notes

Fulfills in part the UCLA General Education requirement for Physical Sciences. Enrollment/class participation contingent on signing a liability waiver form.

Enrollment limited to 26 students. Visitors not permitted. Enrollment deadline: June 24, 2022. Internet access required.

Refund Deadline
No refunds after June 28, 2022
Schedule
Type
Date
Time
Location
Lecture
Tue Jun 21, 2022
6:30PM PT - 9:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Jun 23, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Jun 27, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Jun 30, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Jul 4, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Jul 7, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Jul 11, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Jul 14, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Jul 18, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Jul 21, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Jul 25, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Jul 28, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Aug 1, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Aug 4, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Aug 8, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Aug 11, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Aug 15, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Aug 18, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Aug 22, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Aug 25, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lecture
Mon Aug 29, 2022
6:30PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom
Lab
Thu Sep 1, 2022
8:00PM PT - 10:00PM PT
Remote Classroom

Contact Us

Speak to a program representative. Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

This course applies towards the following certificates & specializations…

Ready to start
your future?
By signing up, you agree to UCLA Extension’s Privacy Policy.

vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning